My Wolf Dream

Last night I dreamed that I was in a dark room, looking towards a messy closet from a distant corner in the room. It was so dark that I could barely make out shapes and objects, but I believed I was spotting a white wolf-like creature in the mix. I called out to it and started howling for it. I said to someone in my dream, “Let’s see if this is my animal totem. It looks like a white wolf!” I proceeded to passionately and unabashedly howl like a dog baying at the moon. After several guttural and visceral cries my howls were returned by a voice coming from in the closet but instead of a white wolf a black wolf emerged and ran quickly towards me. I was startled and a bit frightened at first, but when the wolf reached my side I realized it was friendly, familiar and loyal just like a domesticated dog. Immediately my fear was gone.

Now I know that this black wolf is named Sheba and she walks beside me everywhere I go. She is my protector. I always felt I had some sort of guide or body guard my whole life. Now I realize it has been Sheba all along. I wonder why I thought of her as white but she emerged as black instead. She has always been with me.

 

Just to footnote this post, I learned of this story from a woman who lives near me…

Cherokee Wisdom…..

The Two Wolves

One evening an old Cherokee told his grandson about a
battle that goes on inside people. He said, “My son,
The battle is between two ‘wolves’ inside us all.
One is Evil. It is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret,
greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment
inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority and ego.

“The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope,
serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence,
empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute
and then asked his grandfather,
“Which wolf wins?”
The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

copywrite 2007 (you may reproduce this on your blog but please be sure to give credit to SueHawks and prominently attach a link to www.spiritualdeepdish.wordpress.com )

5 thoughts on “My Wolf Dream

  1. I have had this dream before, not exactly like yours but very similar. My name is Sheba in the furry community and I am a black wolf so hearing about this made the hair on the back of my neck bristle. How did you figure out her name is Sheba? please email me at ### and tell me more.

  2. i had a very similar dream whit two wolfs whit wings a white wolf whit angel wingsa nd a black wolf whit demon wings but most of the time the black wolf was whit me infront of me looking at me

  3. I was pregnant with my second child and i knew i was having a girl. But i kept having this dream through out my pregnancy. I’m walking threw woods and i see a black shadow following me. i’m scared so i walk faster and faster and then i stop to see what is following me, i turn around and it’s a black wolf. But the thing is that it doesn’t get any closer to me, it just keeps it’s distance and so i keep walking until i’m come to a small town and it doesn’t follow me in to town it hides in the trees around the town. As i’m looking around i can hear people’s thought and what they are thinking about the wolf and some of it is negative and some positive but they don’t call it a wolf they called it a liar. So i’m confused. I still remember this dream like it was yesterday.

    • This is great! I am going to have to do some meditation on this one and get back to you. I kept thinking of Little Red Riding Hood while reading it the first time through. I’ll try to figure this one out by later tonight for sure. Thanks for sharing that with me.

    • I don’t know if this will get to you or not, but it has been quite a while since you posted this dream. I’ve been very busy these past few weeks, but I took some time to sit and meditate on your dream tonight. Basically the whole dream description made me think of Little Red Ridinghood. The interesting thing about this is, Red Ridinghood can be considered an archetypal symbol of the Earth Mother. (Archetypes are timeless, symbolic characters that – regardless of culture or generation – all of our subconscious minds understand the meaning of, and agree upon, whether we are consciously aware of these symbols or not.)

      One wikipedia link shows that the Earth Mother also known as,
      “Mother goddess is a term used to refer to a goddess who represents motherhood, fertility, creation or embodies the bounty of the Earth. When equated with the Earth or the natural world such goddesses are sometimes referred to as Mother Earth or as the Earth Mother.”
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mother_goddess

      I think your dream was simply your subconscious acceptance of your role as the mother of a new female entering the world. Your psyche is aware of potential male threats to her, and was showing you that you must be on guard. Also the interesting addition to this is, some of the talk about the “liar” was positive, which to me represents the truth that not all men are a threat. There really are some good ones out there. But whatever the case may be, you as a mother goddess, were definitely made aware of this presence that lurks in the shadows. Cool.

Leave a Reply

